Back To Home

B N Sharma appointed as Chairman of NAA

29 Nov, 2017 Print


Following the Union Cabinet's approval for the creation of the National Anti-profiteering Authority (NAA) under the Goods and Services Tax (GST) Act, the Centre on Tuesday (November 28, 2017) appointed senior IAS officer Badri Narain Sharma as the first chairman of the apex body.

An IAS officer of 1985 batch belonging to Rajasthan cadre, Sharma is currently posted as Additional Secretary in the Department of Revenue, Ministry of Finance. He has been closely associated with the formulation of GST and its implementation. He has also worked in the Commercial Taxes Department in the State of Rajasthan.

Sharma will be assisted by four senior officials of the rank of Joint Secretary and above, namely J.C. Chauhan, Chairman Tax Tribunal, Himachal Pradesh; Bijay Kumar, Principal Commissioner GST, Kolkata; C.L. Mahar, Principal Commissioner GST, Meerut; and R. Bhagyadevi, ADG, Systems, Chennai.

The Authority has been set up for a two-year period, which would begin from the date Sharma assumes charge as Chairman.

The Authority is mandated to ensure that the benefits of input credit and the reduction in GST rates on specified goods or services are passed on to the consumers by way of a commensurate reduction in prices.

News Source : GST4U

Place : New Delhi

News Date : 29 Nov, 2017